Skip to content

Barbican Press Q&A

May 14, 2013

barbican_press_logoBarbican Press will soon be launching their Doctored Books list with my new novel, The Deconstruction of Professor Thrub, and their website is now live with news of forthcoming titles, blog posts, and a Q&A in which I rant about the general state of things. Based in London and Hull, Barbican Press is promising ‘writing from the discomfort zone’:

We’re looking for modern classics – books so different they can always seem new. Books that rose to so many challenges they forgot to compromise. Books with minds of their own for readers with minds of their own. If you’re a reader who doesn’t need pandering to, whose life has been shaped by books that dared to be different – welcome to your new home!

The Doctored Books series will publish books that developed as university Creative Writing theses. I think the emergence of the Creative Writing PhD is a much-needed kick up the bum for British fiction, and over the coming years I’ll follow the Doctored Books list with great excitement. I think it’ll be a thrilling ride. I don’t expect each title to be an elegantly-crafted Booker Prize-winning literary novel (though some may fit into that category); I expect some titles will be a million miles from the sort of thing I normally like to read (and that’s part of the fun); but I look forward to opening each new title, filled with hope and uncertainty. I think this list will put the thrill back into reading. If you’re serious about books, and interested in the future of British fiction, keep an eye on Barbican Press.

From → Interviews

Comments are closed.

