Skip to content

D.D. Johnston at the Cheltenham Poetry Festival, Thursday 4th May

April 25, 2017

CPF brochure 2017The Guardian described the Cheltenham Poetry Festival as ‘a poetry party with a healthy dose of anarchy.’ I’m thrilled to be helping to launch this year’s festival, and I promise to bring some of that anarchy. I won’t, however, be bringing much in the way of poetry (although I did once write a poem about squash, which for some reason has yet to be widely anthologised). Instead, I’ll be telling a few supposedly funny stories and reading some supposedly funny bits from my novels. It will be a blast! You can see me AND my dear colleague Tyler Keevil for £6/£5 or £3 if you’re a student under 25. Value! The event’s from 7pm to 8pm at Smokey Joe’s on Thursday 4th May, and you can book your tickets here.

But, wait, it gets even better. Stick around! Because, after that, I’ll be introducing some of the insanely talented students who are studying Creative Writing at the University of Gloucestershire. They’ll be reading flash fictions full of laughs and tragedy, in the same venue, on the same night, from 8:30pm. Admittance to that event is free, but space is limited so you’re advised to reserve your place here.

And that’s just the first night of the 2017 Cheltenham Poetry Festival! It runs until May 15th, with an exciting and eclectic range of big stars and local talents. So be sure to check out the full list of events here.

From → Uncategorized

Comments are closed.

